Super Hero Squad???

Hulk is eating yo-yos? Silver Surfer and Wolverine living in the SHIELD headquarters? Thor trying to use the Surfer’s board for a mirror?

Oh my stars and garters, this is not an issue of “What If?” and not a 1970’s gimmick mag.  This is the new cartoon on Cartoon Network called “Super Hero Squad,” where miscellaneous Marvel heroes band together against villans like The Wrecking Crew and Dr. Doom and MODOK. The team includes Iron Man, Captain America, Thor, Wolverine, The Hulk, Silver Surfer, The Falcon, Hawkeye and a chorus of other Avenger and Defender heroes.

This is the most atrocious, sad, campy, and childish incarnation of these heroes I’ve ever seen in my life. It may be for children on a sunday morning but has nothing on the previous incarnations that used to occupy sunday mornings when I was a child.

The reason why the world of comics are experiencing such a downturn and why children these days are getting dumber and dumber is due to animators not challenging children’s ideas and minds like I was. The ideas and characters that were created more than 40 years ago are being diluted.  Discrimination, questions on patriotism, murder, intrigue, relationships, and crime noir are all being foregone by slapstick antics….Nothing is serious, everything is a joke and nothing is sacred. Not even the life of Captain America…(Thats a whole other can of worms I won’t discuss here).

I’m disappointed in this show…its terrible and I don’t respect it. Even the name makes my stomach churn and my head pulsate…I can’t blame this on the merger with Disney quite yet but it is fishy, since it premiered a couple weeks ago, Sept. 14th, 2009.  Hopefully this won’t be the norm as far as the animated series at Marvel Studios. I hope that this show will be cancelled. Soon.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

